need help with oil consistancy!!!

• Thread starter mikeb437
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
mikeb437

mikeb437

everytime i make oil from some good bud it turns to shatter! i do not want shatter... i grew some weed last year,, turned out ok, ( im a beginner) but ive been makingoil from it and it gets to a nice gooey consistancy. when my friends ask me to make it for them they give me blue dream, and other great buds and it turns to shatter although im following the exact same process.. am i doing soething wrong or does better weed produce only a shatter oil????

germinator

germinator

Purge with hot water bath maintain waters temp the whole way .......in my experience high heat at purge equals gooey oily product. I would not be shocked if some strains require more heat than others.

mikeb437

mikeb437

I had the plate directly on the stove to heat it up. It actually looked like the oil was bubbling it was so hot. The oil turned out to be a dark amber color rather than a nice golden color. But it still turned hard after cooling. I dont know why i cant get it to turn out oily. I heard a higher purge heat produces an oil substance but when i use good buds i cant make it happen.. Im frustrated!!

connoisseurde420

connoisseurde420

Shatter is the best preservation of thc in it's original form. Heat over 170 should break it down to oil. U can go as High as 240, but I only do that for topicals, it will also darken the oil. Why do you want oil over shatter?

Graywolf

Graywolf

everytime i make oil from some good bud it turns to shatter! i do not want shatter... i grew some weed last year,, turned out ok, ( im a beginner) but ive been makingoil from it and it gets to a nice gooey consistancy. when my friends ask me to make it for them they give me blue dream, and other great buds and it turns to shatter although im following the exact same process.. am i doing soething wrong or does better weed produce only a shatter oil????