Noob Question about Mother Plants, Clones etc

• Thread starter irishboiii
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
irishboiii

irishboiii

Hey guys, I have a question about selecting a mother plant and cloning.

Im a noob and have only ever grown once in soil, from seed, many years ago.

Im planning to grow 1-2 Northern Lights under 600w HPS using DWC and will be trying out LST & SCROGGING and will be hoping to get about 8-10oz.

I have heard that growing from clone is much better than from seed, so the plan is to grow a few femenized plants in order to find a plant with great genetics to take clones from, and also to get me used to DWC before I start flowering.

So here are my questions:

1. If I buy a pack of 6 Femenized Northern Lights, would I get away with using lets say 200w of eco lights or cfl or T5 since Il only be vegging them to select just one mother plant? Or would I need more light?

2. How do you know which plant to select as a mother plant

3. Since for my main grow I intend to just grow 1-2 monster plants, would it be a waste of time finding a mother plant and taking clones? Like would I be better off just growing from seed every grow?

I think thats all the questions, I may have had more that went out of my head lol. Thanks in advance guys

soserthc1

soserthc1

Well I really wouldn't look for a mother plant in fem beans as I kinda view fem beans as for people who don't wanna keep mothers around or bother sexing plants , with that being said you could find something you like a wanna keep running it but your not gonna know if its a mother plant until the run is done and it brings something special to the table - say potency , bag appeal , high thc , crystally etc - So basically you will know if you wanna keep it after you grow it , dry it, cure it for 2-4 weeks and smoke it ..