Nutrient dossage

• Thread starter cheech
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
C

cheech

Hey all. I've been growing for a solid 2 years now, and the majority of it I was underfeeding my crop.

I remember reading Heath Robinsons posts saying he never goes over 1.2 ec, and that it simply is not necessary, and that most growers over feed. I figured shit if that great grower doesn't go over 1.2 ec why would I..... But he is in a rdwc, so maybe that makes some difference. I'm in coco.

I have finally become aware of my plants needs.. Well, my ss chronic at least. They want 1.6 ec precharged coco from rapid rooters, then 1.8 to keep them happy through most of veg. 2.0 ec at end of veg when they are 3'.

In the past my troubles of necrotic spots and fan leaf drop started at week 4 in flower. Like a dumbass I'd drop the ec from 1.7 to 1.5... Last run I finally brought the ec up to 2.0 at week 4... What do you know, no fan leaf yellowing/drop and bigger buds!

I had thought that 2.0 ec (1000 ppm/.5 scale)was way to high for a room that wasn't being supplemented with co2. The plants don't lie though.

I'm curious if their are any other growers out their with similar stories of underfeeding their crop. I'd like to hear what ec some of you guys are feeding at, and at what stage of the plants life. Or if you like ppm, share the conversion scale or say what meter you're using.

A

AliasAO

Same story different man here Cheech-

Been at it for a solid 2 years-- 3 total and Im also a CoCo guy.

I noticed the same thing--- early in my plants life they were always so healthy then like you.. once flower hits midway they start to drop and spot.

Like an idiot I thought I was OVER FEEDING when in reality I wasnt feeding enough.

This grow around I started using Mykos and Azos amended into my CoCo and directly applied to roots when transplanted and they took off.