pH Issues? Worm casting impact?

• Thread starter petroleumboy
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
petroleumboy

petroleumboy

Hi, my first post on forum so please be gentle with me :)

I'm just getting into flower, with three Hindu Kush. I'm starting to see more and more leaf issues and went to my local grow supplier yesterday. Unfortuntately the grow advice I got from the local shop was the opposite I got on one of my last visits, so I thought i'd post and see if anyone validates his recommendation.

Growing in a medium of 60% ProMix HP / 20 % worm castings / 15 % perlite plus other minor amendments. Indoor grow.
I've been trying to keep my pH in a range of 5.8-6.4 as I was told this medium is to be treated as "soilless"???

My local shop-keep seemed to think I need to buffer my soil, due to what he called "low pH associated with worm castings" (from what i've read in other postings here, worm castings are relatively neutral so i'm not sure if I should trust him or not?). Regardless, his recommendation was to attempt to bring up my pH a bit with gypsum sprinkled on top and watered in.

The last time I tested my outflowing water, I had an input pH of 6.2, and an outflow pH of 5.5.

Questions:
1) Am I a soilless grow with this medium?
2) Are worm castings commonly thought to be acidic and a pH lower-er?
3) Based on my leaves, do people concur I have a pH issue?
4) Recommended pH for my medium?

Thanks in advance to all who provide some insights based on their experience!

Ph issues  worm casting impact
Ph issues  worm casting impact 2
Ph issues  worm casting impact 3
Ph issues  worm casting impact 4
Ph issues  worm casting impact 5
PK1

PK1

Supporter