Please help - electrical question

• Thread starter Durio_OG
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
D

Durio_OG

I am preparing for a 20x20' space and plan on using 16 LED units that are about 1100 watts each. I am new to indoor growing and I am pretty inept with in electrical so what I am going to ask will probably sound stupid.

What is the proper way to power these lights?

Is it OK to have a dedicated 20 amp breaker for each individual light and timer with the remaining load to power ancillary equipment (fans, filters, etc)?

GNick55

GNick55

Staff
Supporter
I am preparing for a 20x20' space and plan on using 16 LED units that are about 1100 watts each. I am new to indoor growing and I am pretty inept with in electrical so what I am going to ask will probably sound stupid.

Is it OK to have a dedicated 20 amp breaker for each individual light and timer with the remaining load to power ancillary equipment (fans, filters, etc)?

someone will chime in to help you out..

Deadstill

Deadstill

I'm from the government, and I'm here to help.
Supporter

Howdy, and welcome to the Farm! 🤠

First of all, are these lights actually drawing 1100 watts? Usually they say something like "1200 watt LED light" but what they actually mean is "equivalent to standard 1200 watt light" - and generally these lights only draw somewhere between 80-100 watts, actual power usage..

I could be wrong, and it has been a long time since I've purchased any LED lights, but this is generally the case. An LED light that actually draws 1100 watts sounds like it would be incredibly powerful.

As far as circuit breakers go, most people don't know this, but they only exist for 1 reason and 1 reason alone. To protect the wiring in your walls from getting too hot and starting a fire, and nothing more.

I've run about 13 or 14 of Mars Hydro's older blurple "1000 watt equivalent LEDs" off of one single 20 amp breaker without any trips.