Power Question

• Thread starter NugNation
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
N

NugNation

Hi there! I'm just about to start my first indoor grow in the next couple weeks. I'll be installing a 4x4 tent with a 1000w HPS and a couple fans.
Here's my problem: I just checked the breaker in my apartment and all of the outlets and lights in my bedroom seem to running on the same 15amp line. Currently I have a 2' 8 T5 bulb setup in my closet thats vegging my girls and it pulls roughly 200w (192). Will I be able to run the 1000w with a 6" inline fan and maybe one more oscillating fan without tripping my breaker? There isn't much else in the bedroom that draws power, just a printer I rarely use, 2 overhead CFL lights (13w a piece) and my cell phone charger. That means that I would be running the 1000w HPS, a 6" inline fan (not sure how much power these normally draw since I'm totally new to this), the T5 setup and one more oscillating fan for circulation in the tent. What do you guys think?

Also, I have a wall-mount A/C unit right next to where I'm going to be putting in my tent that appears to have a 240v plug (the type you find on electric dryers and other big appliances). Would I be able to find an adapter and/or ballast to run at least my light off this socket?

TrichromeFan

TrichromeFan

I would say that you are definitely pushing it, to hook all of that up on the one circuit. The 1k bulb pulls 9-10A. Fans maybe another 2A. Pumps, etc, another 1-2A. That alone puts you close to tripping the breaker. I would advise pulling in another circuit somehow, or scaling down to a 600w to play it safe. That plug you are talking about for your AC sounds like 240v to me. Personally, I would take a 600w with an AC unit over a 1kw with no AC. Heat can be a killer, especially in an apartment. Save the AC at all costs. just my 2 cents.

C

cacamal