Question for Bulk soil next year

• Thread starter Haggardass
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Haggardass

Haggardass

Ive been reading up on soil and compost and i found this. They say its a bloom media, looks to me like a bunch of compost really but thats ok, my question is do these numbers look ok to mix up some of tom hills soil with, more so is it just good for growing in at all? The numbers from what ive researched look good to me but im no expert on soil ive only been organic for two years now thx guys. Im actually gonna put up a few charts each is different soils just wondering which one looks best. Not worried to much about ph i can put that where i need it just more so the fertility of it.

Soil 1:
Compost Testing Parameters

Parameter Unit Measure Product Range
pH pH units 5.5-6.5
Soluble Salts mmhos per centimeter 1.0-1.5
Bulk Density lbs per cubic yard 450-600
Moisture Content % wet wt basis 45%-55%
Organic Matter Content % dry wt basis 50%-60%
Particle Size inches 1/2 minus

Soil 2:
pH pH units 7.0-8.7
Soluble Salts mmhos per centimeter 2.0-5.0
Bulk Density lbs per cubic yard 900-1,000
Organic Matter Content % dry wt basis 70%-80%
Particle Size inches 1/4 minus
Growth Screening % germination 100%
Stability Rating Mature-Very Mature Very Mature

Soil 3:

pH pH units 5.6-6.8
Bulk Density lbs per cubic yard 1,200-1,500
Organic Matter Content % dry wt basis 8%-12%
Particle Size inches 3/8 minus
Textural Classification Soil Class Name Sandy Loam
Soil Texture-Sand % by weight 62%
Soil Texture-Silt % by weight 26%
Soil Texture-Clay % by weight 12%

Seamaiden

Seamaiden

Living dead girl
The reports are rather different, which makes it more difficult to compare. Off the toppa mah, soil 2 looks best, but it has no sand, silt or clay mentioned, so what's in it providing the minerals? For that reason I would actually combine soil 2 and soil 3, perhaps around 2:1 or 3:1 soil 2:soil 3.

Haggardass

Haggardass