Recognizing Magnesium Deficiency 3.5wks Old

• Thread starter Omaha101
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
O

Omaha101

I'm new to growing and have plant in the beginning of the vegetative stage and the stems are a light red/purple and slightly curling like a taco (I've adjusted the lights height & intensity for the curling)... I've heard of the red/purple being caused by a magnesium deficiency. Is it typical to add magnesium throughout the plants life, or how should this be used. I'm not sure if this is just the nature of a young plant or a deficiency? See the attached pic... Ant advice on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Recognizing magnesium deficiency 35wks old

LoveGrowingIt

LoveGrowingIt

Supporter
I'm new to growing and have plant in the beginning of the vegetative stage and the stems are a light red/purple and slightly curling like a taco (I've adjusted the lights height & intensity for the curling)... I've heard of the red/purple being caused by a magnesium deficiency.
The red/purple coloration is due to the production of the pigment anthocyanin. It is most often caused by stress, but also can be a genetic trait. It is not an indication of magnesium deficiency. So, when I see red stems, I look for things that might be stressing the plant. In this case, the light stress could have caused it. When the stress stops, so should the red stems.

Is it typical to add magnesium throughout the plants life, or how should this be used. I'm not sure if this is just the nature of a young plant or a deficiency? See the attached pic... Ant advice on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Magnesium is the core atom of the chlorophyll molecule and thus is essential for plant growth. I don't see signs of magnesium deficiency in your plant.

Last edited:
O

Omaha101