Rock wool and seedling tips?

• Thread starter BigBloomingBuds
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
BigBloomingBuds

BigBloomingBuds

Hello!
This is my first time using rock wool and also my first time popping seeds. I am a little more than a week in and so far things look pretty good on most of them but other look like they are pushing themselves out the top of the rock wool. Has this happened to anyone before? Any tips?
Also any tips on rock wool watering would be helpful. All I keep reading is don’t over water but that is such a vague statement when I am also reading water everyday.
Thanks for your help!

BigBloomingBuds

BigBloomingBuds

Not sure why these didn’t attach the first time.
020F84FB E2F9 4B44 94C7 6389BB329F8D
C691BBAE ABE1 4183 8E9A 8DA57E338FC5

gorillaglueaaron

gorillaglueaaron

🦍
Supporter
Oh I think I might be able to help with that actually. When they get all leggy like that, it means they need more light.

gorillaglueaaron

gorillaglueaaron

🦍
Supporter
What are you doing for lighting right now?

Goodthingsgrow

Goodthingsgrow

Hey BigBloomingBuds.
Migrating seeds do occur. It’s the loose make up of the rock wool.
Did you cover the hole well once the seed was planted?
Unless you just watered, your cubes look pretty wet. They need a good shake to get the water out. They should be moist not soaked. Too much water won’t let the oxygen in. Drain the excess water from the tray so they’re not wicking and staying wet.
Avoid misting when the lights are on too. Could fry them.
Hope this helps at least a little.

Moe.Red

Moe.Red

You are going to need to add in some dry back to your watering. If the rock wool is always wet, roots don't form properly. If you have roots going all thru the rock wool they don't have a way to lift up. You have some there that I'm afraid are not going to make it.

Here is what I do if it helps: