Roots Organics soiless/coco??

• Thread starter Surfr
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Surfr

Surfr

Just cruisin....
Supporter
Is anyone using the roots soiless mix? It's coco cut with a bunch of perlite and other goodies. How are the results? I am wondering if I should run coco specific nutes with it or I can run whatever?? I wanna run iguana juice in it. I'm about to transplant 9 sour diesel clines into the mix so I suppose Ill see what happens!

2DogWalker

I am currently running 6 plants in 5 gal grow bags in the Roots CocoFiber, water once every other day using botaincare CNS 17....I was using the roots buddha grow but struggled getting them dialed in (but I am still learning) and since I have went to CNS 17 things have really improved...

Best of luck bro
2Dog

Darth Fader

Darth Fader

It's good stuff & the clones will love it. You can feed whatever you like. It's got too much perlite IMO, and it'll end up washing up to the surface, but hey, at least that will prevent gnats from taking over.

S

Snow Crash

I've been running it for a while now. I like the stuff.

It has plenty of nitrogen to break down over a good long vegetative cycle. I found that during the first week of flowering I needed to be running a bit more phosphorus and potassium in my system than Canna coco was offering. Adding more Cal-Mag Plus to that, and nitric acid pH down, plus the Roots Organics was just too much overall nitrogen earlier on. This delayed flower onset and of all the things I know to improve upon for next time it is to drop my nitrogen ppm's earlier in flowering. It will get the extra that it needs from the media.

With this media I will only feed at full strength every other time. I alternate with 1/2 strength, balanced (1-1-1 1%Ca 0.5%Mg), solution with good runoff to ensure the nutrient buffer is not washed out but all the extra salts do.