Screwed Up Flowering Room Setup, Can I Cut A Plant In Half To Trim Heavily Mid Flowering?

• Thread starter Mepis
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
M

Mepis

TLDR; Plants grew to tall, put them in a poorly built flowering room where the lights hang down to the middle of the room. The top half of the plant doesn't get enough light. Is it safe to chop the plant in half so it can focus on the bottom buds? Not worried about yield, would rather have quality. Also worried about killing the plant or hermes (don't want to scrub clean the room right now).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Longer, more thorough version:

So, here's the story, I'm a complete newb. I'm still on my first grow and transitioning into my second. I still have three late plants from my first grow. One is doing very nicely, the other looks great but is super tall, and the third is looking kind of crummy and super tall.

I was originally setting the lighting in my whole basement from a 12/12 cycle but the other plants (tomatoes, snap dragons, alyssums, etc...) weren't to happy with this. I don't have a green thumb but found recently that I really like indoor gardening in general. So I built a flowering box and put both of my 400 watt MH lights in it.

I built the thing to short though. These aren't special growing lights. These are bay lights I bought on Craigs List for dirt cheap. I only started doing this back in February so didn't want to spend a lot of money out the door until I could figure out if I could do this or not. It's an expensive hobby to have (indoor gardening in general I mean).

The entire inside of the flowering box is lined in Mylar, but because the way the lights hang down, the bulbs sit about the dead middle of the flowering box. The light beaming up towards the top of the box is blocked by the metal casing that hold the ballasts in the lights.