seedling leaves turning horizontally -> over-watering?

• Thread starter skippyV
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

skippyV

This is a sativa strain, about 3 weeks old, only 4/5 inches high and as a noob I might have over-watered it.
Gets plenty of sun, southern VA area, in a raised bed with lots of worm castings and typical flower bed (Walmart) potting soil.
It has a nice green look and I used a (crappy) magnifying glass to examine under the leaves for broad mites, but saw nothing.
The new leaves are turning sideways - could this be from over-watering?
Seedling leaves turning horizontally   over watering

GNick55

GNick55

Staff
Supporter
This is a sativa strain, about 3 weeks old, only 4/5 inches high and as a noob I might have over-watered it.
Gets plenty of sun, southern VA area, in a raised bed with lots of worm castings and typical flower bed (Walmart) potting soil.
It has a nice green look and I used a (crappy) magnifying glass to examine under the leaves for broad mites, but saw nothing.
The new leaves are turning sideways - could this be from over-watering?
View attachment 1998536
easy on the watering..
just keep an eye on her..

Harpua88

Harpua88

Supporter
It's one of the mildest problems and a good first issue to deal with and get under your belt. These are the very earliest leaves, they won't have a big impact on future growth. You can easily and quickly correct this. And overall, it looks quite good. Follow what GNick says, stay in tune here, and you'll do great.

S

skippyV

are you letting that soil dry out?
what’s your watering habit?
rain?
Apologies upfront - I write like I talk - usually too much.
I germinated the seed.
Then made a hole in the flower bed soil, big enough to contain all the contents of a store bought 4oz bag of worm castings.
Then put the germinated seed in the middle of those castings.
I've read that this might be too much nitro for the seedling's roots but it seemed to sprout and grow as expected.