• Start date
  • Tagged users None
O

OrganicPro

I'm using all organic Micronized Compost Tea, should I be PH' ing my water

Monster762

Monster762

I'm using all organic Micronized Compost Tea, should I be PH' ing my water
I'm no pro but if you're in soil I would not use ph up or down unless you have to. And I think it kills the whole organic part unless you use organics to alter the ph.
What is the water ph to start? And what is the ph of the tea? I think ideal is over 5.8 minimum up to like 7.0 neutral max. But in my little experience plants grow better in slightly acidic conditions.

There are some people here deal with organics they will chime in.
I'm just winging it. Live soil with hydro nutes. My first grow.

plm

plm

Let's look at it this way:

If we mess around with the PH from compost tea / water it is possible that we could kill certain bacterial colonies, microbes, fungi which are benficial to our plants and contributes to its overall vigour and resilience, maybe adjust the water before using it for compost, however most growers don't adjust in any way the PH of the tea, I mean as long as we keep it natural and don't use synthetic nutrients (bottled liquid nutes) the microbial life will balance everything, cause the plant will suck in the nutrients it needs and the PH will fluctuate up and down allowing certain types of nutrients to be used at certain levels and the microbial life will balance the soil at the according PH where the absorption is the best for the specific nutrients, as long as the water is clean (no chlorine and chloramine), there's no need to worry of such things.

Besides recent NASA studies made on different types of substrates suggest that if we feed plants at a PH of 4.5 vs a PH of 5.8 there is no effect at all, be it positive or negative upon the growth of the plant.

Bannacis

Bannacis

plm about the best answer u gonna get, without going ubber deep into it.
A lot is determine by your soil mix and the type of nutes your using.