Should I top or FIM my plant?

• Thread starter 420LoverTilIdie
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
420LoverTilIdie

420LoverTilIdie

I have a plant that I believe may have been a little stunted from nutrient deficiency, but it’s doing a lot better now. It’s about 8 weeks old now and like 10” tall. I have counted 7 nodes. My question is, should I top it or fim it? I’m new to this and very apprehensive about cutting my baby lol. Any advice will help tremendously as I feel like a moron when it comes to this stuff.

ArrEll

ArrEll

I have a plant that I believe may have been a little stunted from nutrient deficiency, but it’s doing a lot better now. It’s about 8 weeks old now and like 10” tall. I have counted 7 nodes. My question is, should I top it or fim it? I’m new to this and very apprehensive about cutting my baby lol. Any advice will help tremendously as I feel like a moron when it comes to this stuff.
Since it's 8 weeks old and (you don't mention if it is) not flowering, it must be a Photoperiod. I imagine you can do as you like, but what exactly is that? Do you have a need to keep it short? Or just want more buds?

ThatRapperWeed

ThatRapperWeed

If you're going for the most harvest for the least effort, fim it. Topping will produce 2 new bud sites, fimming will produce 3 or more. You could also do it based on how your top node looks. I topped 6 plants and fimmed 1 on my current grow just because one plant was set up so perfect to fim.

420LoverTilIdie

420LoverTilIdie

I would top it, its weird cutting on them at first but she will bounce back! Throw up some photos too! Welcome to the farm, a lot of helpful people on here
Thank you! I’ll put up some pictures soon

420LoverTilIdie

420LoverTilIdie

Since it's 8 weeks old and (you don't mention if it is) not flowering, it must be a Photoperiod. I imagine you can do as you like, but what exactly is that? Do you have a need to keep it short? Or just want more buds?