soil in ebb&flow?

• Thread starter jakew215
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
J

jakew215

soo ive been pondering over about a half dozen or so ideas for my next run, trying to keep it simple, im a noob so this might be a stupid question but has anyone tried using soil in like an ebb and flow table, i was thinking with like 36+ plants on a table with a screen over them will be a bitch to water so i was thinking of flooding the table and drain to waste when the girls need water. i was even thinking of using some modified super soil of some sort, keep it really straight forward.

idk what the hell all the systems are called so sorry if im just off on the name or something and ive just been looking up the wrong shit. lol.

A

antimatter

Soil generally takes days to dry out enough to the point it needs to be watered again so I doubt you would wanna put it on a timer but you could just go in and manually turn on the pump and flood the tables. Coco would be more practical for putting on a timer.. Id personally use some smart pots as to not make a mess with medium

Edit: I just read you wanted to do drain to waste so you would want a drip system setup not flood and drain that would waste to much nutrient solution as flood and drain requires alot liquid to flood. No need for fabric pots then.

Trend

Trend

It's semi possible but inefficient. Much better to do a top feed/drip and use the tray as a bed

J

jakew215

okay that makes sense to drip then runoff goes to waste.

i havent mentioned drip just cuz of the fact that it scares me to keep saturating the the soil constantly. when poeple run drip do they just drip heavy for like 30 minutes or something every few days?

cuz they way i water now its maybe feed and water once a week in five gal's, but i guess if the pot is much smaller it will dry out quicker.