Some questions about soilless things like Foxfarm and Sunshine #4

• Thread starter WestCoaster
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
WestCoaster

WestCoaster

Hi all,

It's been over ten years since I grew and when I quit growing I had been doing it hydroponically for five years so I have some questions about nutrient and PH levels for use in Fox Farm mixtures.

When I last quit growing hydro wise, I ran my nutrients at 1200 ppm and my PH at mid 6's, 6.3-6.7

My local grow shop recommended General Hydroponics Floro Nova grow formula with nuts on the label at 7-4-10, seems wrong to me. It only takes a teaspoon of grow mix to get a gallon of water to just over 1000 ppm, so this some bad ass strong stuff or something is wrong with my brand new Hanna meter.

The bloom mix is from the same General Hydroponics company and the nuts are listed at 4-8-7, once again seems wrong to me and takes very little of the concentrate to achieve a ppm reading just over 1000.

So, my questions are for those that grow in soilless mixtures and check your levels before watering, do my numbers seem OK to you? If not, what direction do I need to take the PPM & PH numbers?

I only ask this because I am starting to see some yellowing of the lower leafs and most plants are 3-4 feet tall being grown outdoors in the Seattle area.

I did a search for the Floro Nova products and came up with a mixed bag of results.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

WC.

20kwDreamer

20kwDreamer

Depends on your source water, you want it to be >100ppm ideally. You want the water at pH 6.0, mix and feed. If you let it sit pH will drift.

Anywhere from 3mL to 8mL; 5mL a gallon being my average along with 1mL of Floralicious+. 400-1100ppm, watch the girls.

WestCoaster

WestCoaster

Thanks for the responses PH and 20K.

My water source is bottled water that tests at near 0 ppm and a very neutral 7.0 before doing anything to it.