Starting seeds directly in the uc

• Thread starter iceman
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
iceman

iceman

First of thanks to you guys and gals who have shared your vast wealth and knowledge to noobs like me.

I'm getting ready to start my first uc run by germing seeds maybe via rockwool directly in the uc. Wanna know the best medium to do so in. All tips and suggestions would be appreciated.
After the build is complete will start the show.

P

paulycali

That's balsy if you ask me. I would take the germinated seedlings and transplant them into a 4" cube and place them on a flood and drain table. Get them started there first for sure. You can even transplant them into the 4" cubes and then place them into 8" net pots with some rocks around the cube. Once your done or you feel they are ready then transplant the 8" net pot into the uc system. That's what i would do but i am no uc pro so don't take my word for it but feel it's a great method. I'm sure plenty of uc farmers with chime in. Be patient as plenty of good info is about to come your way

iceman

iceman

Thanks pauly for your suggestion, but space is really limited for me and i do agree its balsy. Was thinking the cubes as suggested but concerned that they may wick up too much water. Or hopefully as the taproot pushes out i start lowering the water level and hope for the best.

Thanks again

Capulator

Capulator

likes to smell trees.
Supporter
If you have a drip system set up you can do this as long as you sprout them first, and really get them going in a paper towel, then drop them in the hydroton, but be gentle. I suggest burying them 3 inches so they have to fight to get up to the surface. That will make them stronger. You have to make sure you water them often. If the hydroton dries out, the seedlings will no doubt die.