Student needs help from Farmers!!!

• Thread starter d luv
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
d luv

d luv

Hi fellows I recently joined here to soak up as much knowledge as possible from all of you. I am a complete beginner when it comes to growing. I am looking to start my first grow, 2-4 plants in an extra closet at home. My question to all of you is what you would recommend I buy as far as a setup goes? I would greatly appreciate ideas on how you would spend $500 for a 2-4 plant setup {with potential for a few more plants in the future}. Also how would you spend $1000 on a little bit bigger setup and how many plants would it be able to grow? I will probably just end up buying what one of you recommend, as I know a lot of you are great farmers {as I have browsed some of the grow journals on here and have been extremely impressed}. I know this sounds stupid but I don’t know where else to start. I am in great need of your expertise and ideas. Please help a total newbie in this crucial time of needle. I look forward to being a student in this forum and learning as much knowledge from all of you as possible. Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and hopefully respond.

sky high

sky high

I remember being a noob. It was BEFORE the Internet and info was incredibly scarce...basically limited to friends or Ed and Mel's grow books....

Focus your purchasing $$$ on lighting and ventilation. Go HID...screw messing around with CFL/etc. you'll just waste a buncha cash figuring out that you need an HID to get the yields you desire. Figure 50 watts of light per sq ft for bloom. (1000 watt light will cover 20 sq ft)

soil will be a cheaper way to start out and will give you some decent experience.

Pre-built systems come at a premium. You can build your own for far less if you understand the concepts at hand. Search for plans on the net...they are out there...

s h

sun

sun