Tent Fires? Wires running through fabric ports, somethings wrong with that practice.

• Thread starter PipeCarver
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
PipeCarver

PipeCarver

Supporter
I'm relatively new to the tent growing and I've a bit of a concern about the way wires for equipment have only fabric ports to go through. As an ex electrician, one of the things we don't do is run extension cords through or under fabric or anything easily flammable.
I've witnessed running electrical fires, starting at equipment and running along the wire burning through the insulation along the way then exploding in an electrical junction box, then branching out onto all the circuits and extensions off that junction box. creating an instant disaster Disconnecting the main power source was the only way to shut that down......Long story short I don't like running my wires through the fabric ports.

To help a bit I run where I can wires through a 2" pvc duct through the port and wires through the duct specially for the larger loads, as in a heater cord or hps power supply if you're using one in a tent. or off a power bar cord that everything is loaded onto.

What's your thoughts? anyone have a horror story...Halloween and all.......I have a pic of one port I'm running through now on another computer, I'll post when I can.

PipeCarver

PipeCarver

Supporter
I'm relatively new to the tent growing and I've a bit of a concern about the way wires for equipment have only fabric ports to go through. As an ex electrician, one of the things we don't do is run extension cords through or under fabric or anything easily flammable.