concerns?
Thick styrofoam dwc tubs

Thick styrofoam dwc tubs 2
Thick styrofoam dwc tubs 3
Thick styrofoam dwc tubs 4
Thick styrofoam dwc tubs 5

S

ssteely71

I'm just studying DWC since my best friend is hooked on it. Is it foam to help keep it cool or for cost ???

Unrelated. I'm hammering a Red Stripe this very moment. Lol. Image

MrRightBrain

MrRightBrain

Lots of concerns, straight off the nutrients eating the foam away, also parts of the foam getting into your system. I think the inside is very thick and your not getting as much soace as it would seem.
Honesrly bro, id just go buy a rubbermade tub, prime it and spry it and call it good.

just my two cents. GL.

Red Stripe

Red Stripe

Lots of concerns, straight off the nutrients eating the foam away, also parts of the foam getting into your system. I think the inside is very thick and your not getting as much soace as it would seem.
Honesrly bro, id just go buy a rubbermade tub, prime it and spry it and call it good.

just my two cents. GL.
thanks for chiming in! I honestly need all the input before I move forward. nutrients can eat foam? it wont be a rcdwc so no tubing besides air input to get clogged.the thickness is why its even a consideration. you are correct about cubic footage..should be considered a SWC.here are the net plots i was considering using in this.
Super orchid net pots

Natural

Natural

I'm liking what MrRightBrain was sayin about reaction with nutes. I don't know about it eating styro..but it would certainly do something similar to degradation I would think. Might even leach a chem..but I couldn't say for sure. ?? Plastic liner would solve that...if it's really a problem.

Red Stripe

Red Stripe

I'm liking what MrRightBrain was sayin about reaction with nutes. I don't know about it eating styro..but it would certainly do something similar to degradation I would think. Might even leach a chem..but I couldn't say for sure. ?? Plastic liner would solve that...if it's really a problem.