Timers-Amps-Lights

• Thread starter GirlCarny
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
G

GirlCarny

I have no real world experience just 2nd hand knowledge from reading various boards From what I have read these timers are not recommended for 1k lights because they melt down or fail fairly quickly Anyone have any experience with the plug in timers and 1k lights?

410Xnfi158L._SL500_AA300_.jpg

2nd question. We are still debating using either 1 1k or 2 600w lights for our grow We were given a 600w Lumatek ballast hood and the above timer So financially it would be cheaper to buy another lumatek Does anyone have a recommendation for a plug in timer that can run 2 600w lights Or do you need those professional hard wired timers?

Thanks for taking the time to read, now go buy a corn dog. :evilgrin0040:

TrichromeFan

TrichromeFan

A professional hard wired would be the best. Hydro stores will have some relays that will handle more lights, and they just plug in. If you wanted to keep it the cheapest, I suppose you could use 2 timers. Problem is if the 2 timers get out of sync. If they are supposed to be unreliable on 1000, 1200 is definitely a no go. I only go for the digital timers myself, for accuracy, and memory back up.

true grit

true grit

Havent used that specific one, but have ran numerous 600's and 1k's on the same little digital type from Harbor Freight (same one hydrofarm rebadges)....

If its a tent and you have space i would run 2 (600) instead of a 1k...more lumen flux and watts.

budboy299

budboy299

This was my result of running 2 600watt Lumatek ballasts through the same timer.(I mean same as in through a single timer, not meaning same as in the same brand)
Damn timer continued working too, even in this state. The melting was due to both lamps striking at once.