Tree's in soil ?? How big of containers?

• Thread starter Mr.GoodCat
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Mr.GoodCat

Mr.GoodCat

Hey whats up fellow farmers. I am getting ready to setup a new vert room and I plan on using smart pots. My question is how big of a smart pot should I use if I plan on growing trees? The room will be 16 x 24 with 16k and 12-plants. I am shooting for a 3lb average. I was thinking 30-gallon? What you guys think?

Chronic Monster

Chronic Monster

Hey mrgoodcat :)
kinda off topic but wondering if you ever used copper hydroxide paint as recommended by uncle ben?

seems like on a large tree grow it would be pretty beneficial, although I have no experience with it personally.
couple interesting posts about it.
http://www.thcfarmer.com/forums/article-view-520.html&title=how-can-i-use-spin-out-for-chemical-root-pruning

http://www.sepro.com/default.php?page=spinout

http://www.invalid.com/general-marijuana-growing/9114-spin-out-chemical-root-pruning.html

container treated with spin out.
A

B

container not treated with spin out.
C

Chronic Monster

Chronic Monster

:giggle, I dunno how I missed your first post that you are already using smart pots...
time for round three on the coffee :D

F

fatganjagrower

30 gallon is too big. 20 gallon is plenty enough for your root systems. Good luck

mango420

mango420

20 gallons should be plenty, you can go bigger if you want. Also are you hoping to get 3lbs per plant, 3 lbs per light or 3 lbs total?

Mr.GoodCat

Mr.GoodCat

3 lb per plant that is less then 1/2 g per watt so i think it is do able.

wonderinalice

wonderinalice

I've done the twenty gallons indoor, I would go with the thirty's. I didn't get close to three ..... but had four plants on 1 thousand hps...... 9 o's was the biggest yield i got out of 1 plant??? Just my 2cent

caregiverken

caregiverken

Fear Not!
Supporter
Bigger is better

Go big

I screwed up and put this one in a 10Gal? pot...

wilts everyday till I water it...poor thing