Understanding light.

• Thread starter BigCube
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
BigCube

BigCube

Just a short disclaimer here, I am not an expert. I've done my own research, I will show my sources and I am willing to be corrected.
I will try my hardest to keep my bias out of the equation as best I can.

Light a small portion of the electromagnetic radiation spectrum:

EM spectrum compare level1 lg

https://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov/Images/science/EM_spectrum_compare_level1_lg.jpg

Within this narrow band of the spectrum is the visable light spectrum.

Visiblelightspectrum

The visible spectrum is the portion of the electromagnetic spectrum that is visible to the human eye. Electromagnetic radiation in this range of wavelengths is called visible light or simply light. A typical human eye will respond to wavelengths from about 380 to 740 nanometers.

This is what we are primarily interested in when growing plants. And what we are measuring when we measure Lumens.
There is a tiny bit leading in to and out of the spectrum that plants can use we know as ultraviolet and far red.

The lumen (symbol: lm) is the SI derived unit of luminous flux, a measure of the total quantity of visible light emitted by a source per unit of time.

Photosynthetically active radiation, often abbreviated PAR, designates the spectral range (wave band) of solar radiation from 400 to 700 nanometers that photosynthetic organisms are able to use in the process of photosynthesis.

So, you might be asking: What's the deal? Both those spectrum's are almost exactly the same. What's actually being measured, and how can we use this information to help us grow plants?

Well in short, they are both measuring the same thing different ways. One is slightly more accurate when dealing with plants.