Understanding Ph

• Thread starter Homesteader
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Homesteader

Homesteader

As an organic farmer, I prefer to adjust my pH with my amendments in my mix to get the batch to around 6.3pH. The plant will naturally make the soil more acidic and the liming agents (crab/lobster) I use seem to become neutralized by them, because I seldom see ANY rise from day one on the mix provided I get a plant growing in it. The easiest way to adjust a soil mix and make it more acidic in my opinion is using peat while adding wood ash to raise them. Not saying this is the only/best way, just what I do.

Using Wood Ash on Your Farm
https://extension.umaine.edu/publications/2279e/

Homesteader

Homesteader

Resourcesph
Detailed Truog pH chart

Homesteader

Homesteader

Thanks @Ecompost for this one. A gem

The Effect of CaCO3 On Nitrogen Transformations

Soil pH affects the rates of several reactions involving N and can influence the efficiency of N use by plants. Nitrification, or the conversion of ammonium (NH4+) to nitrate (NO3-) by soil bacteria, is most rapid in soils with pH values between 7 and 8. Nitrification approaches zero below pH 5. Ammonium-N fertilizers applied to calcareous soils are converted within a few days to nitrate, which moves freely with soil water. The acidity produced during nitrification is quickly neutralized in highly calcareous soils but may lower the pH value in soils containing low levels of CaCO3.