What Do I Call My Rdwc System

• Thread starter h4ppyf4rmer
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
h4ppyf4rmer

h4ppyf4rmer

I shall call my system "Bubbles" };-)

After researching all different hydro systems for about three years(can't help it, I'm an engineer, it's a curse I tell you!!!) , I finally decided on a RDWC. I built it where I have a 20G res, 6 - 5G buckets, 400GPH pump, and air stones in each bucket.

here's where I differ from a lot of systems, I use a 1/2" feed to all the buckets at the BOTTOM of each bucket and I have 2 - 3/4" returns, 3 buckets on one return and 3 buckets on the other return, all at the final waterline in the bucket. So, Basically, water is forced into the bottom of the bucket and returns at the top of the bucket for what I believe is the best circulation of the nutrients.

Is there a particular name for this type of RDWC system.

Tat2420

Tat2420

Sounds cool.
Did you consider using a "waterfall pump" instead of the air stones...IMO, they are more efficient, easier on the roots, and add less heat to the water...
Just a thought.
Pics would be cool!!!

h4ppyf4rmer

h4ppyf4rmer

Sounds cool.
Did you consider using a "waterfall pump" instead of the air stones...IMO, they are more efficient, easier on the roots, and add less heat to the water...
Just a thought.
Pics would be cool!!!

I did not, my system is in the basement on painted cement, so it stays pretty cold. I actually had to add a 150watt fish tank heater to get the water up to the mid 60s this winter. This summer might be different trying to keep the water below 70.

FennarioMike

FennarioMike

I have a pretty large Under Current system for flowering and an 8 plant, 5.6 gal DIY RDWC - with a 5.6 control rez and 60 gal top off rez for veg.