What is Best Veg Light ?

• Thread starter MinerClan
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
MinerClan

MinerClan

I am looking at replacing an LED COB for the purpose of Vegging.

I'm new to gardening and the likes and though the light is nice it doesn't seem to be dimmable.
It also concentrates all of its light in the middle its not even lighting on a 4x4 and it I have to keep it 24 inches away from canopy.

I don't like it.

There must be better options.

Dub_City405

Dub_City405

T5 or mh. Lots of blue little red. I know people who veg with a florescent and i know people who veg with 1000w.

All growers grow differently.

MinerClan

MinerClan

Can I combine lighting like using a MH but also using something that can deliver a broader spectrum.

If so how can I ensure the light creating a broad spectrum like T5s are reaching the plant if I'm also using a Metal Halide.

mysticepipedon

mysticepipedon

You can combine lighting to your heart's content.

Most bulbs sold for growing will have a spectrum available — some a lot more detailed and some a lot more smoothed. So when you say a broad spectrum like T-5s, you are talking about a particular T-5 tube with a particular spectrum, not all T-5s.

Typically, flower spectrums are 3000K - 3500K, veg spectrums are generally 4000K - 6500K. You can get T-5s for either, or mix them in a fixture for a broader spectrum.

You can also use MH or LED. These will also produce good results, but may have drawbacks for your particular situation.

MinerClan

MinerClan

You can combine lighting to your heart's content.

Most bulbs sold for growing will have a spectrum available — some a lot more detailed and some a lot more smoothed. So when you say a broad spectrum like T-5s, you are talking about a particular T-5 tube with a particular spectrum, not all T-5s.

Typically, flower spectrums are 3000K - 3500K, veg spectrums are generally 4000K - 6500K. You can get T-5s for either, or mix them in a fixture for a broader spectrum.