When to Use Nettings

• Thread starter evu80
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
evu80

evu80

Hey Fellow Farmers

This is my first time using a trellis netting and I'm not quite sure when to apply it to my garden.

Some farmers use them from the start to get the plants growing horizontally while others apply them when they begin to bloom.

I got 6 inch netting which was applied right after the flipped my girls and it was set about one inch above the canopy. Now looking back, this was probably a mistake cause i'm unable to get in there and continue on trimming and the net was set about 6 inches too high to start with.

I'd like to hear what works for you guys so I can incorporate each method/style into my own garden. Thanks for the tips

Prime C

Prime C

Defender of Dank
Supporter
This is what I do. When I think my plants are ready to be spread out I put the net on. I then veg for another week and flip. I experimented a little this round and I trimmed everything below the net after the first week of flower. Seems to be working great.

Chobble

Chobble

Early Veg, Late veg, Flower.

Early Veg is a box around the plant spreading the branches out

Late Veg is similiar, Spreading branches out as seen fit.

Flower is a blanket that spreads the colas apart from eachother.

Chobble

true grit

true grit

Heres what I do-
per 4x4 table I build a 1" pvc square with semi adjustable height legs. I drop the square with netting directly onto the plant tops at flip- as in plants are pressed down to begin scrog. I make sure to spread and fill teh net space. After about a week or two when the dominant tops protrude through screen i clear out all lower growth.