White, yellow mold under seedling pot

• Thread starter Gurtgurt
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Gurtgurt

Gurtgurt

These sit in a tray and likely had low to no air flow around the bottoms of the pots. The tray is on a heating mat which can dry out the bottom of the media after a while. Perhaps I was keeping these too moist even though "it's impossible to over water coco." This is my first time with coco.

It is 70/30 coco perlite with scant worm castings worked in. Have only received plain water and a couple shots with diluted FF Grow Big.

You think this is bad? Fuzzy white mold and a couple spots that look yellow almost like expanded foam.

My concern is that it's at the bottom of the pots and the plant roots are just about ready to hit bottom. When I transplant I'm not sure if I should be worried about adding these mold chunks to the center of the media.

What do you think? Should I remove from the pots, knock the chunks off, and backfill with fresh coco? Thanks.

White yellow mold under seedling pot
White yellow mold under seedling pot 2
White yellow mold under seedling pot 3
Gurtgurt

Gurtgurt

Not yet. I'm going to transplant today and add some mycorrhizae to roots.

BigCube

BigCube

Not yet. I'm going to transplant today and add some mycorrhizae to roots.

I was just wondering, cause mycorrhizae can cause while/off while mould like growth in the soil. This is healthy mycorrhizae.

Not sure about what you have happening.

MacroLogos

MacroLogos

The yellow looking growth deeper in the pot in the first pic looks like mycelium, and it might fruit some mushrooms. It creates CO2 as it grows (not much), and it breaks down chunks of wood bits in the soil.

20220717 212540
20220720 124002
20220721 190124
BigCube

BigCube

Yeah, exactly what it looked like to me.
Healthy mycorrhizae colonies do the same thing.

Gurtgurt

Gurtgurt

Good to know. I re potted, added mycorrhizae, and noticed more yellow mold looking just Mr macro logos.

DYNOMYCO

Supporter