Why unsalted butter when infusing cannabis?

• Thread starter PipeCarver
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
PipeCarver

PipeCarver

Supporter
This is my first attempt at making cannabutter. It looks simple enough but do I have to go out and get unsalted butter? I have butter wtf is the difference in making it with salted butter?

TSD

TSD

Clarify your butter first, the milk solids and salt will drop to the bottom and foam up, scoop the foam off and scoop out the golden clarified butter. Just put it in a pan and bring it to a simmer on low heat and once it's bubbling let it go for a few minutes. This also helps the butter fats bind to the thc and it can end up a bit more potent. Fyi I've made butter in the past and the only difference with the salted is you see.some salt in it once it settles... taste and potency wise, not much difference. I've learned more about edibles now and I only use clarified butter.

PipeCarver

PipeCarver

Supporter
IMO It doesn’t taste good in any recipes. But I don’t use it for medicine. Good luck.
Thanks folks, I've started the process, 7 grams bud - 32 grams butter...cannabis in the oven at 250 - 3/4 hr. If its just a taste and looks difference then I can get over that. Its for my wife to help with her sleep, she's restless at night, getting up to go pee and tossing & turning. eatables help her sleep through the night. lol sometimes a bit too early and is out her her recliner. ah well sleep is sleep.

PipeCarver

PipeCarver

Supporter
Right on, PC. It will probably help. Tell her to hold her nose when she chokes it down. LOL
I had popcorn one time with unsalted butter on it.....tasted like it smelled like someones sour socks. It's been in my mind for over 40 years, I don't think I could cook with it. I don't cook very often so using it isn't something I'd be familiar with, it just sounds gross ( from memory ).

Oldchucky

Oldchucky

Supporter