2018 First Time Organic Garden. Humboldt, Ca.

• Thread starter SmokeyMcBowl
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
SmokeyMcBowl

SmokeyMcBowl

hi to all the farmers out there! First off I want to thank all of you guys posting to help people learn how to grow for themselves. This is my first post ever so I’m a lil nervous and probably forgetting key details that I should add. If you need specifics please ask! I’m a 6 year veteran of the army that decided to ditch the 7 different meds they put me on and use a more natural medication. That being said I grew last season (2017) for my first ever grow. It was a Learning experience for sure. Everything from bud rot to pm issues but in the end I came out with 1 lb for 4 plants. Did a lot of different LST techniques, different pots, different nutes, etc. after all of this I had a friend tell me about “Subcool’s super soil” and after doing some reading I was sold on going organic. This is where I need your help! Let me lay out what I have planned and see what everyone thinks. I’m trying to make sure I cross my T’s and dot my I’s before I make a investment.

The plan is as follows:
-4x 100gal smart pots
-1x 5’x10’ bed
-20’x 10’ hoop house using 20’ pvc for hoops. (For smart pots) (pvc rib every 2’6”)
-use old greenhouse to cover bed (10’x10’)
- grow space will be fenced off 30’x20’ with 6’ shade cloth.
- security measures also set in place to let me know of intrusion.
- on private property

Environmental facts:
-6-8 hours of of direct sun light
- high humidity (80%)
- lots of rain in early spring
-cooler climate (70-85 on average in the summer)
-river is a mile away so I do get fog in the morning.
- 18ish miles away from the coast
-15+ hours of daylight in the summer.
- I think I have enough water set aside (3,500 gal tank with rain water)
-seeds I have: 6x regular blueberry cookies x ? (Possibly Afghan)(seeded unit my friend had from his garden) 4x “dankalicious” (gift from a friend from emerald cup)