Basic Growing quiz!

• Thread starter chuck uuuuu
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
C

chuck uuuuu

I know what it can be to be like a total newbie!
We were all there at some point in farming, some not so much and like a dense bud full of seeds we are unable to see that we may have bud with no seeds and the ability to mend u far and wide.

These few questions I hope makes some think, and investigate here.
1. what is Ph and why keep it constant? is it important?
2. what do nutes do? Do nutes need 2 be Set for the hight of my plant?
3. what is SHOCK? Can Ph shock my plants into no growth?

Thank you for all the Questions & Answers All Farmers contribute if their as dense as I am! :lock:

urbanite420

urbanite420

1. pH is possibly the most important factor to growing a great crop. Light and nutrition are also of extreme importance. pH is a calculation of the concentration of H+ ions (any ion that is positively charged and capable of accepting electrons is an acid) in solution. pH stands for "power of hydrogen," as in 10 to the power of a negative pH value -- this will give you the actual concentration of H+. Sounds counter-intuitive but the math behind it explains it all. Simplified, pH is calculated by taking the negative log of the concentration of H+. H+ comes from your starting material usually a weak acid -solid or liquid - as we generally use buffer systems (that would also contain a weak base) in nutrient solutions. Buffer solutions are another story... Concentration is calculated after weighing it out on a scale and added it to your volume of water. Strong acids or bases are used to adjust pH in buffer systems.