Did I do a boo boo?

• Thread starter sydsix
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

sydsix

I bought two Blackstar 240W UV LEDs for a 4x2x5 tent and I might be having some regrets. I'm looking for some encouraging words...if they exist?

Basically, after posting a few questions about my design, I got a thread full of very knowledgeable farmers telling me I went wrong with LED and I should go HPS. I know this is a huge debate, so I'm not looking to start a war. I went the LED path with full knowledge that my yields will not be a big/good as HPS, but for me and my med needs the pros outweighed the cons. Did I make a boo boo? I mean, I should be able to grow 4-6 plants from seed to flower with these two LEDs...right?

I'm a grow noob, so this will be my first time out of the gate so to speak. So maybe I should have started a little more "tried and true" methods, but alas, here I am. Looking for some moral support from my fellow LED kin.

dankworth

dankworth

Looking for some moral support from my fellow LED kin.

Sorry, fresh out. You will chase your tail with LEDs. Flowering with them will likely be problematic.
Looking at the flowering plants of others under HID lighting on this site will depress you.
Those things will remain useful as veg lights probably.

But it really is in your best interest to flower with hps and/or mh.

S

sydsix

Off to go punch myself....

...ok, I'm back. What about doing a hybrid of one 240W UV LED and one 400w HPS in my 4x2x5? Overkill or lose the LED and go 600w HPS? I wouldn't feel so bad if I could one LED panel to veg in another tent, and one to flower along with an HPS. I'm looking to dull my buyers remorse ;(

S

sydsix

Or...

...What about using the two LEDs for veg in the current tent, and getting another tent (either 4x2x5 or 4x4x7) with a 600W HPS. I got the UV (flowering) version of the lights, not the HO (veg) version. Do you think this matters much?

squiggly

squiggly