First time cloning and first experience with rockwool HELP?

• Thread starter sweetolmaryjane
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
S

sweetolmaryjane

Hello, i have two bushed out beautiful mother plants that i am going to attempt to clone. It is my first time cloning, and my first time using rockwool. I have a rectangle box with plastic lid and just enough rockwool to fit in the box. I have rooting powder as well and a razor blade. What exactly am i supposed to do? I have never seen rockwool before am i supposed to boil water and bring it to room temperature and soak the rock wool for an hour the use it...PLEASE HELP lol
thank you
josh

Chobble

Chobble

I dont use Rock Wool, Dont like the stuff so I cant help you there. I recommend Jiffy plugs, I think they work much better and they're more eco friendly, I still find pieces of rock wool in my garden two years later..

What I always do is take a branch and measure 3-4 inches, 3 being the utmost minimum for clones(Make sure to get a ruler, because your estimate is always a bit off). Then as you come in to take you want to make a 45 degree angle cut much like when pruning a fruit tree. Then you want to make sure to not flip the cutting over, as you can allow air to enter the stomata and create an air embalism, So just hold the cutting straight up and down and put it into a cup of water, I always add a few tablespoons of B1 to the cup. Then repeat until you have your cuttings done.

Now what you want to do is start dipping them in the Rooting Powder. Then make sure to put them straight into the rockwool cubes. Make sure to spray the cuttings at least 3 times a day for the first week of there life then slowly reduce that as it roots.

I spray all my clones with a B1 foliar spray to help them root, and stunt top growth by clogging up the pores with B1 ;) This makes the plant focus on rooting. Its a really good tip that does help.

Anymore Questions or things I didnt cover enough?

Chobble