Intake air too cold??

• Thread starter Critical Kid
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
C

Critical Kid

I am worried that my intake air may be too cold, I stuck a digital thermometer inside the intake for a minute and it showed the air was 7 degrees celcius. Is this too cold to be blowing on the plants? The temp. is dropping to around 16C when lights are off.

jagle

jagle

is about 16c which is 60f the lowest your air temp should go at night?

P

poohpickle

also don't have the air blow directly on the plants if possible diffuse the intake

O

ookiimata

16C is fine. Just don't let it go below 13C. As to the intake air stressing the plants...I dunno, in my area we worry about cooling the room down, not heating it up, so I have no experience with very cold air blowing on the plants. I imagine if you keep the flow from blowing directly on the plants as poohpickle suggested, and the temp reading at the plants' level is consistently warm enough, you won't kill them. You could also reverse the normal setup of new air in the bottom, hot air out the top and draw the intake air across your lights then suck it out at floor level to heat it before it's introduced to the plants.

The best way to figure out if it's too cold is to see how the plants do. If you're using fem seeds and end up getting some hermies, it may be due to stress caused by the cold air blowing on them. But if they seem happy, you're probably okay. The leaves curl up when they're too hot. I'm not sure what they do when it's too cold.

C

Critical Kid

Yea I use a heater to keep the temp around 16C at night, and I shut off the intake and out off to keep some heat in. The funny thing is the cold air is blowing right on the tops of the plants, but they are doing amazing! No leaf distortion or curling, everything is looking very stong, healthy & happy. I guess if it aint broke dont fix it right!?

F

f1ydave