Light Question

• Thread starter JonLPettimor
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
JonLPettimor

JonLPettimor

Hello everyone I have a question about lighting and I'd like to get some feedback from some experts since it's not something I can call up my local electrician to come out and do because I'm in one of those States that likes to talk about Freedom until it's time to allow its people to be free.

I'm a conventional farmer that raises livestock and some specialty crop. I updated the lights and one of my lambing barns and so now I have 20 400w mh lights that I am use in my grow set up. Electrical uses not an issue because my farm uses so much electricity that an extra 8000 Watts a month is only going to increase my bill just slightly in comparison.

I hung the lights at six feet from the soil surface and grew in 18 gallon totes very rich organic soil that I made myself. In a 20 by 40 room. I always water with water from a large fish Reservoir. It averages about 450 ppm's.

I don't have a light meter but I think that six feet is too high above the canopy for this light setup so I want to lower the lights down. I run one month in veg 2 months and flower with clones. Each plant is given one square foot of grow surface. 1 foot above the soil surface I run a wire mesh to make a sea of green.

This is my 6th grow in this light setup and each time my buds have looked beautiful but have had no woeght to them I'm talking 4 oz per hour square yard.

After all of that reading here's the basic question how far should I lower the lights down and will that increase my dry weight?
Light question

Light question 3

I used to use 5-gallon pots for the grows but now have changed to 18 gallon totes and I also switched from doing larger plants to trying to do a sea of green or a screen of green
Light question 4