Lighting, Can you get your plants to close?

• Thread starter keenan878
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
K

keenan878

Ive been someone who has allways believed that the closer you can get to your plants to your lights the better. Ive been doing this for a couple years now, i have 8in ducted hoods to where i can get the plants to almost be touching the hoods themselves without an issue. ive lately been seeing that this may not be such a good idea becuase the UV-B rays could be stressing out the plants and not allowing them to photosynthisis properly. What are your thoughts on the matter?
Thanks

Bannacis

Bannacis

You didn't mention your light type, but if your using vented hoods with glass, i'll assume they are hid lights. yes you can be too close, raise your lights up so that it will also raise your leaves of the plant up, you want them to reach some.if they are drooping(hanging) then you are deff too low.
glass plates on your hoods do reduce some of the light some.
plus if you raise the lights you can spread your plants out alittle, crouding them is also bad.
and also alow better air flow.

K

keenan878

I'm running dual arc 1000's, plants are any where from an inch to a foot away from the glass. I'm running scrog with plenty of air flow

Bannacis

Bannacis

wowsa, yeah i would raise em up to about 18-24 inches, if you look at some of the big grows, they usually have them plus 2 feet or more from top of plants.
You don't want to stress them out with light poison,
Do a test and raise them up to 18-24 inches and watch them for a few days and see how they react. you want you leaves to reach up like 30 degrees or so.

P

paulycali

Only to much light during the last 2 weeks of flowering is harmful to the plants imo. They burn off the essential oils, terpenes and trichomes. Thats why its best to raise your lights during those weeks and add supplemental lighting. For ex. switching out hps bulbs for mh. Or adding Led's

dankworth

dankworth