Outdoor Growing in Alberta with a Cold Frame

• Thread starter KB1
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
K

KB1

Hi,
I'm growing two strains of cannabis (Northern Lights and CBD Elixer, both are regular seeds and photoperiod) outdoors in a cold frame in southern Alberta, and am looking for advice/tips for outdoor growing. This is my first time growing outdoors and using a cold frame.

Its a large cold frame (4' high, 8' long and 3' deep) with glass on both ends, top and south facing side). I'm hoping it will work well, but it is showing warm daytime temperatures already. For example, its 25C outside right now and 32C in the cold frame. Its not unusual to have daytime temps upwards of 35C during parts of July and August and last week we had a few nights where the nighttime temps dropped to 7 to 9C. I'm wondering if I have to worry much about the plants having heat or cold stress (e.g., if I keep the plants watered well, what temps can the plants tolerate without having to take action?).

Part of the reasoning for constructing the cold frame was to extend the growing season. I'm hoping to keep the plants outside until we harvest them (hopefully in late October). I'm planning on using a compost pile and pumping water under the compost and into a couple of barrels to heat the inside of the cold frame. We can have frost as early as late August but often not until mid-Sept and we can have a few snow events in September and October but the snow generally doesn't stick around for good until November or December. Despite some cold temps, we also generally have few weeks of day time temps upwards of 20+C in October and most nights the nighttime temps in October stay above freezing.

I am planning on using a max-min thermometer to monitor temps and I'll keep the plants in pots so if I have to I can move them during extended cold spells, but moving the plants inside is hopefully a last resort.