Sad plant

• Thread starter Ginger farm
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Ginger farm

Ginger farm

Hi all I’m new to growing. my plant is 12 days old. It was going well the plant was happy and looked good. Could do with more light but am just growing it on a window, when it’s sunny and hot outside I put it on the outside ledge for more light. But within the past two days the plant has shit the bed and started to die. I assumed it was overwatering so I changed the soil and put a little big of water literally nothing just to dampen the surface. The first picture is from two days ago and the second is today.

Sad plant
Sad plant 2
Jimster

Jimster

Supporter
You need more light, as the plant has stretched an awful lot for 14 days old. What are you growing in? If the roots can't easily penetrate it, the plant won't grow as well or quickly. The plants need to have full sun as much as they can get... sitting on a window sill might seem like enough for house plants, but if you want to grow it well, it needs a LOT of light. It also need nutrients/fertilizer and water, but those go without saying.
Once your roots come out the bottom, they are pretty well developed and I water as needed. With small pots like you are using, they will dry out very quickly. I know a lot of advice is to NOT water, but that is mostly when starting a plat out. Just keep the soil damp, not wet. Yard dirt is not a good thing to grow in... there are a lot of other mediums that will work much better... even a bag of quality potting soil works great. Hope some of this helps!

Ginger farm

Ginger farm