Seedlings Planted In Light -Will This Kill Them!?

• Thread starter maddogmc
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
M

maddogmc

Hello Everyone!!

Im a newb hear so go easy on me! :)

I have just germinated 5 feminized PPP seed's, at the minute they are in small (disolvable) pots to avoid root damage when i place in the larger pot's, (this is my first time growing!). They all germinated great within 36 hours, This is were i think im going wrong...i have placed the germinated seed's in the small pot's under a 400w HPS light, do they even need light at this point?

I am using soil, PH at about 6.5, the light is about 2 Foot from the top of the pot's! - I also have a fan circulating the cool air around (getting drawn in from my intake at the bottom of my Jardin 100 tent).

Im scared of cooking the new seed's and they have cost me £40!!

I have searched the forums's and cant seem to find the answer i need! Any help will be very appreciated!!

L

luvtogrow

I always plant my seed directly to soil after a water soak and give them immediate light. Helps the seed to orient. The light will be diffuse since the seed is below the soil.

E

Element4NorCal

Here are a couple of things that you might find to be helpful.

You are using a HPS light for your new vegging sprouts. I would recommend using a metal halide a hortilux blue works the absolute best for me and I have bought a few different brands in the past hortilux blue is hands down the best there is.

Do you have an air cooled reflector or do you just have a hood above your sprouts and a oscillating fan to disperse the heat?