vacuum freeze drying

• Thread starter please2waze
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
please2waze

please2waze

Has anyone tried freeze drying their buds in a small negative pressure nitrogen flushed chamber? Have all the needed equipment, so when the time comes, will be posting results!

R

Redux

You're talking about freeze drying freshly harvested buds? If so not such a great idea IMO. What are you hoping to achieve? I have some experience working with freeze drying using commercial equipment.

please2waze

please2waze

Scientifically it is said that low heat over a small amount of time decarboxylates (removing additional COOH group) the inactive THC-acid into the active THC, and supposedly only 5% is even converted! Its possible that the added oxygen inhibits more of the acid from being converted while also oxygenating some into the less inactive cannabinoids. So thru freeze drying in a nitrogen atmosphere, the gradual increasing temp from well below freezing, to room temp, should help facilitate more of the acid to decarboxylate since the boiling point is lowered tremendously from the reduced pressure. Not to mention, retaining almost the same shape and size of the bud, with more pronounced colors. Plus the inhibition of oxygen might make it easier for the terpenes to isomerize into more fragrant polyterpenes.... Who knows? unless someone has conducted this before with undesirable results, no skepticism will deter from a positive goal. peace...

R

Redux

Always interesting to see people think outside the box but don't see how the freeze drying thing will provide many benefits. As for decarboxylation that occurs when you burn it or heat it up like in a vaporizer. Best way to make tinctures is heat the herb up in an oven, so you convert the THCA to THC (think that's it) then do something like an alcohol extract. You can get the exact recipe and directions from the Vancouver Island Compassion Society and it's called Cannamist.