Homesteader's DIY indoor living soil grow

• Thread starter Homesteader
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None
Homesteader

Homesteader

Hello farmers

My name is Sean but feel free to call me whatever you like. I live and grow up on a small farm in the great state of Maine. We raise mostly rabbit, kids (of human type) and chicken but I also grow a lot of fruit trees and vegetables as well. Nothing for market. Not into it for some reason. I think I would consider myself a chicken farmer and orchardist by trade but I do a lot of everything so maybe I wouldn’t. With chickens I raise meat birds and layers and with rabbits we do all dual purpose meat and pelts…Feel free to ask any questions on either though. Rabbit farming is great work. I love them and care a lot about my rabbitry crew. I have great mothers and some cool bucks. I love farming in general so feel free to ask anything about it. So anyways back to growing.

My soil mix lately starts with raking leaves. I fill up my pots (30-45 gallon) to the brim with all sorts of leaves in the fall. Oak, maple, beech make up most of it but small sticks are there as well. I then cover those leaves with my soil mix. The leaves crush down and eventually line with a couple inches at the bottoms of the bags. This provides a nutrient sink for later in the grow as well as some air flow for the bottom of the grow bag. I won't really go over what I do to make soil here, but my base is peat/coco/sand and rice hull and most of my fertilizer comes from soybean meal but also bone char and gypsum.